LAMENT

Sixteen-year-old Deirdre Monaghan is a painfully shy but prodigiously gifted musician. She’s about to find out she’s also a cloverhand—one who can see faeries. When a mysterious boy enters her ordinary suburban life, seemingly out of nowhere, Deirdre finds herself infatuated. Trouble is, the enigmatic and conflicted Luke turns out to be a gallowglass—a soulless faerie assassin—and Deirdre is meant to be his next mark. Deirdre has to decide if Luke’s feelings towards her are real, or only a way to lure her deeper into the world of Faerie.

Reviews

Hear What Others Say About Lament...

  • Publishers Weekly, starred review

    “Vibrant and potent, YA readers searching for faerie stories will be happy to find this accomplished debut novel.”

    Booklist, starred review

    “This beautiful and out-of-the-ordinary debut novel, with its authentic depiction of Celtic Faerie lore and dangerous forbidden love in a contemporary American setting, will appeal to readers of Nancy Werlin’s Impossible & Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight series.”

    KLIATT, starred review

    “Part adventure, part fantasy, and wholly riveting love story, Lament will delight nearly all audiences with its skillful blend of magic and ordinary life.”

  • Saundra Mitchell, author of Vespertine

    “Stiefvater is a gifted author who weaves a dangerous world and sensual characters with ease, and balances the entire package with a wonderfully wry sense of humor.”

    Realms of Fantasy

    “Lament is a gorgeous, gripping tale highly reminiscent of Emma Bull, Holly Black, or Charles de Lint, full of magic, music, mystery and romance. With richly developed characters and an excellent take on the Fae, it makes for great reading. I absolutely loved this book.”

    VOYA

    “Teens with find [Stiefvater's] mix of the mundane and the exotic compelling as is the dizzying romance between Deirdre and Luke. The first-person voice opens up Deirdre’s experience with an unknown magical world that is intimate and immediate.”

Playlists

I have to have music playing non-stop while I write, or I can’t focus. All I can think about is doing laundry, taking a walk, making cookie dough, or laying on the floor. So I create focused playlists for each book, every song picked to reinforce the mood or help me through a scene. They tend to be hours long, but here’s a selection from each book. If you love a song, please buy the track and support the artists so they can keep making more music.

  • 1 Ready for the Storn Deanta
  • 2 January Snows Lunasa
  • 3 Bushes and Briars Susan McKeown
  • 4 Ce He Mise le Ulaingt? (The Two Trees) Loreena McKennitt
  • 5 I Love the Trees Nomos
  • 6 An Innis Aigh The Rankins
  • 7 Corryvreckan William Jackson
  • 8 Hellbound Train Victoria Police Pipe Band
  • 9 Aisling Anúna
  • 10 Miss Gordon of Gight Sileas
  • 11 An Feochan Altan
  • 12 If I Was a Blackbird Silly Wizard

Awards

  • 2010 ALA Popular Paperbacks for Young Adults
  • 2010 ALA Best Books for Young Adults

view ballad

Top Link

Where To Buy