Dangerous faeries.

Otherworldly music.

Unrequited love.

The lives of harpist Deirdre Monaghan and her bagpiping best friend James Morgan change forever as they encounter the beautiful and vicious world of faerie.

Preview Free Teaser

* From Scholastic, including the first two chapters of Lament.

The Series

Lament begins the story of the Books of Faerie. Click on each book’s cover for more information.






What Others Are Saying...

  • Richelle Mead, New York Times bestselling author of Vampire Academy

    “With her lyrical writing, Maggie Stiefvater reimagines myth and legends to bring the world of faerie to our own.”

    Cynthia Leitich Smith, author of Tantalize

    “Chock-full of the fierce and the fey, Maggie Stiefvater’s Lament is musical, magical, and practically radiating romance. A blood-fresh reinvention of old traditions, perfect for engaging sharp minds and poetic hearts.”

    Tamora Pierce, New York Times Bestselling author of Terrier & Trickster's Queen

    “Eerie fae, humans who have been trapped for centuries, and a modern singer/ harpist pulled between friendship, the lover of her dreams, and family. This book is haunting and irresistible.”

Top Link

Where To Buy